Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:09 a.m. - 2005-08-17
berry routine
I am being exceedingly productive at work, but there is still so much to do! Had a great, fun lunch with spouse and Andy yesterday. We sat outside, and then they took off for their submarine museum, except they weren't allowed to push any buttons, so Andy was a bit disappointed.

On the way home from work last night, I saw a large construction-type machine that was called a putzmeister. I laughed all the way home. I think that will be my new favorite word.

Last night I made a fabulous pasta - linguini with fresh corn, basil, green onion and bocconcini (little balls of mozzarella, because that's what I had in the house) and sun dried tomatoes.

I took all the marginal tomatoes in the fridge, chopped them up and cooked them with lots of garlic, olive oil and a bit of basil. Then I added the dregs of jarred pasta sauce I had from something else I must have made last week and added some of the chopped sun-dried tomatoes and simmered the sauce. I chopped the little mozzarella balls into quarters. Then I heated some corn kernels in the microwave, chopped some basil and green onions. I added the pasta to the sauce, then added the toppings (corn, cheese, basil and green onions) to the pasta - oh my - it was so summery and delicious. Andy had thirds.

Tonight we are having BLTs. On WW bread. With low-fat mayo.

I am going to miss my blueberry routine since berry season is winding down. I wash a cup of blueberries for me to take to work, then I put the rest in a really cute little round bowl for spouse to eat when he gets up for breakfast. It is a silly little routine, but comforting to me.

I hope I get to see the putzmeister again today!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!