Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

6:59 a.m. - 2005-08-08
Mean and grateful
Can I just say how much I love the weekend? I just do.

We saw the painful, disturbing in-laws. FIL is getting worse personality wise. Andy was playing with a train set, and FIL starts off on this long, boring and pointless story about something, and Andy couldn't hear him ( and YES, I do teach him to respect his grandparents) and when he asked Andy a question and Andy asked him to repeat it because he couldn't hear him, FIL made some ridiculously snide comment and said "Oh yes...grandad...I'm sooooo interested in what you have to say." It just sickened me.

Did I already say that we're going to NYC next month, courtesy of my parents to take Andy to his first broadway show? They will be returning to the port on a Saturday, we will meet them, stay in NY, see a show, see some sites, etc. Andy has never been to New York, and I have only been once since 9/11, and frankly, I have been a bit scared. But we are going, and it will be great. Anyway, MIL decided that since BIL wants to see Andy so much, that we will drop him off in Brooklyn on Friday night, and then BIL will bring him back to the City in time for the show. Without asking us.

Oh. Hell. No. This is the BIL who never bothers to call, who doesn't respond to phone calls or emails or gifts, who is incensed (to his parents) that we have not visited, despite the fact that we haven't been invited. Who does not visit us, despite the fact that he HAS been invited. Not. Gonna. Happen.

I'm sure it will hit the fan next month, but spouse and I agree, he will not go overnight. If BIL and SIL want to come and meet us for dinner, that's great. If they want to tag along and site see, even better. But seeing as how we haven't heard from them in over a year, despite us calling or emailing or sending gifts, I just don't see letting my son go with them. That, and the fact that I just don't like them.

But I'm not bitter.

Here is what I am grateful for:

That the Toronto jet accident had no deaths. That the Russian sub had no deaths. That the Shuttle is still safe.

My neighbor was painting his house yesterday and fell off his ladder. There was no one around, so he had to wait until our other neighbor heard him calling for help. He thought he broke some ribs, but he did not. He'll be sore for a few days, but thank God, he is still alive. Another thing to be grateful for..

Okay, I've been mean and pissy enough today.

We also met my friends new baby - he is delicious - plump and soft and golden. He is alot like Andy was at that age, and Andy was fascinated.

Can I just say how much I love the weekend? I just do.

Good night moon

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!