Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:50 p.m. - 2005-07-14
Vacationo'rama
I am back from the sea. We "de-barked" - a word that made me laugh all morning and want to scratch my hind quarters - about 8 this morning, got our luggage without incident, and waited for the limo to pick us up. The kids, for the most part, were very good this trip. My sister and I have different parenting styles, but usually we agree on how to manage each other's kids. The area where we diverge is bed times. She insists her kids like to stay up late, (even though they rarely protest about going to bed at 9:30 or 10, rather than 11 or midnight) and I figure Andy should be in bed by 10 ish, especially when he is breaking down in tears during the day after several late nights. It is a battle I rarely choose to fight, but Andy is at that point, so we'll get a hotel room tonight, and I will take him (spouse and I snore, I figure it will be easier if just one snorer bunks with the muffin-man) to the hotel tonight.
Here is what we did: Played bingo - my choice; walked around the straw market in Nassau, which I'm not particularly fond of, but thought it would be a worthwhile thing to do; sweated - ALOT!; ate a ton of food; drank real coke - something I only do on vacation; had a good time. Here is what I did NOT do - win at bingo; get a tan (in fact, I realized that for one entire day, I never left the interior of the air-conditioned ship); celebrated our anniversary - #14; got spouse a nifty Panama hat from this store that was right out of the 1940s run by three elderly ladies who did not have air conditioning. (do not diagram that sentence.)
Not sure what the next few days hold - we fly home on Monday night.
So that's the story for now.

Good night moon

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!