Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:46 a.m. - 2005-07-07
What message am I missing?

Just back from my...ahem...two mile walk in the brutal heat and humidity. I am so virtuous. I don't even walk at home, and saint me is walking on her vacation.

Met our friends for dinner and picked up right where we had left off last year. We may get together again next week if schedules permit.

My sister is sounding prickly on the phone already, and my father is starting to "feel tired" so I am feeling those anxious waves wash over me before we leave for the cruise part of the vacation. Time to work the St. Francis.

I found an odd assortment of things while walking. There is a small, shrine-like pile of glasses, lighters, keys, and other pockety things just at the base of the traffic pole that has the button to push for the cross walk. Must be things that people drop as they are walking. I didn't notice them last time, so I don't know if it is a weeks work of stuff or just from this morning. Hmmmm. I don't know why I have to make such mental inventories when I am moving.

I am sickened by the London terror attacks, and like everyone, waiting for another shoe to drop. We get lulled into complacency again. We forget the details of the last brutality. And still, the white men stare smugly into the camera because they believe they are in charge, but without the responsibility for causing this. Without the responsibility for seeing what causes this hate, because they have theirs.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!