Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:40 a.m. - 2005-06-27
What's with all this road kill?

Back in the groove - the business trip/conference went well. I took Friday as a vacation day to spend with my parents, Andy and spouse. We hung out, went to the outlet mall for a surgical strike (didn't get a thing...) and then my parents' friends came over for the afternoon, and we went to a local seafood place. After dinner, Andy had a neighborhood birthday party for a couple of hours, so we just enjoyed the air conditioner. Saturday, back to my brother's for my niece's birthday - very, very HOT OUT!!! Got back Saturday night, watched a movie, fell asleep. Sunday morning, Andy and I went to church early, then we went to the grocery store in the next town and got lobstahs. My mother loves lobster and we promised her a dinner - they had an EIGHT POUND LOBSTER! I was too intimidated to buy it - I don't believe it would fit in any of the pots I have, so we got one six pound, and three three pounders. They were delicious! We still have a few pounds of lobster meat left for a meal today. The claws on these lobsters were enormous - I had to use a hammer instead of the lobster crackers. That's all we had - lobster, butter, lemon and a bit of asparagas. I have to weigh in today for weight watchers, so I hope I did well.
My parents go back to Florida this afternoon. This week will be busy getting ready for vacation. I have to get a hair cut, pack Andy and me, get the house ready, get my father's birthday present, etc.
Here is what's bothering me - there were three dead deer on the roads this morning on the way to work - they were all fairly large, and in somewhat the same position - on their sides with their soft white bellies exposed. So vulnerable. So sad.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!