Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:01 p.m. - 2005-06-13
Gotta have the garlic
Such a bizaaaah weekend for me - I actually had to work late - ON A FREAKIN' FRIDAY! and didn't get home until nearly 7 (we're supposed to get out at 4 during the summah) and made our home-made pizza which has undergone two modifications: First, we now make the dough with whole wheat flour; second (and if anyone asks me I will deny it) we started using reduced-fat cheese. It's not too big a difference - at least not big enough for me to go back. And it is working for now.
Saturday I packed up spouse and Andy for their overnight camping trip on a world-war II era ship, then I went to meet my bro and his S.O. at her family's beach shack, except they told me to leave wicked early, which I did so I could meet them at the appointed time, and by the time I got there (with they incorrect directions they gave me) I still had to wait another hour for them to get me because they hadn't left yet. An hour. In the hot sun. With no bathroom nearby. And the hour turned into two because there was some road race in the town we were rendezvousing in so many of the roads were closed. By the time they made it to the meeting spot, I just gave them the lovely hostess gifts I brought and turned around to go home, because I had to be back home at 4 to volunteer at church. It was just annoying. But apparently my brother and his S.O. have that gland that enables them to keep people waiting and not feel bad about it. I get a rash just thinking about it.
Saturday night I did the required fourteen loads of laundry, ate sushi for dinner and watched junky movies. Sunday I read the paper, cleaned up, did the grocery shopping and waited for spouse and Andy to return. Then we had a sushi lunch, and commenced with other errands, got home and realized that spouse had left his sleeping bag on the ship, so he called (after I groused at him for several minutes -- wasted time, wasted gas, passive agressive, blah, blah, blah...) the ship, they found it and he made the drive to retrieve it.
It's been beastly hot - in the high 80s and low 90s with very high humidity, so I just marinated some chicken breasts in lemon juice and zest, garlic and olive oil and grilled some for last night with cold sesame spinach, and some for tonight for chicken cesaer salads.
And...I lost another 2.4 pounds this week.
I have no deep insights, except that there were more single shoes on the road today, and a succession of throw pillows - all different. Hmmmm.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!