Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:53 a.m. - 2005-05-24
Crossing

So I'm down six pounds. Not too shabby. Of course, most of it is probably water, but I feel like we are in the groove.

I'm sleepy this morning - I was up for an hour with Andy after another coughing spell. I know it is allergies - I wash his bedding at least twice a week - we try and shower him down to rinse off the pollen, but he was coughing around 1 until 2. I come down to soothe him, he usually never complains and is very social even in his sleepiness. I straighten his covers, check for fever (there never is any thank heavens) and get him a fresh cup of water. He eventually settles back down. It takes me longer to fall back to sleep.

My mother called to say she is coming up June 17. They will come in - I will pick them up. Then they will go to my brother's the next day. Then they will come back to our house. Hmmmm.

I have to fly to Washington next week for a conference. I think I am speaking. I'm a bit nervous, not about the speaking, but because I realized that I haven't flown by myself since before 9/11. In the most greedy way, I am not as afraid to fly with Spouse and Andy because we are all together if anything happens.

Tomorrow night is my last den meeting until the fall. YIPPPPEEEEEE! We are scrapbooking and having make your own sundaes for the last meeting. Last month I gave each cub their own disposable camera when we went on a hike, and they can make them into scrapbooks. I got some extra stickers and doo dads, so I can't wait to see what they'll come up with.

Of course, there are ten thousand other cub scout things this summer - This weekend there are three!

We still have no sun. It is in the 40s today. I am feeling damp and moldy. I need to be in Italy. Or under the covers.

I am aching for %%junkme1%% and her brother. I am thinking of %%plain-Jane%% and remembering that spouse and I practically divorced from the stress of moving. Andy and I say a little prayer each night for %%nycme%% and her uncle. There just seems to be a good deal of pain and melancholy amongst my diaryfriends right now.

I love d-land, but there is that awkwardness of feeling for your friends, but not knowing how to cross that divide from d-land friend to in real life friend. I could make a loaf of bread and walk it over, to my real life friends, or babysit their kids for a few hours so they could have a break; or pitch in and pack boxes if they were moving. But with d-land, it is only good wishes and prayers, and sometimes that isn't enough.


a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!