Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:57 a.m. - 2005-05-16
Survivor of the weekend

Weekend - weekend - Andy found his hat Friday morning, thus alleviating the need for me to make this a "teaching" opportunity about keeping track of his special things. One of his after-school teachers had found it and locked it up, knowing it would get filched in a minute. She gave it to him when he came in first thing Friday morning. Friday night we had to rush, rush, rush - Andy had cub scout cross over which meant hastily making and eating dinner, getting everything ready for the cross over and babysitting (most willingly) the girl next store who is one of Andy's favorite friends. We had a sleepover, since we won't likely be able to do a mixed- gender sleepover for much longer. Switched the cars from the shop, gave a ride to neighbors to the cross over, went for ice cream afterwards, but I felt a bit sick, so I didn't eat ice cream. Mark your calendars! I DIDN'T EAT ICE CREAM! Saturday Andy had another playdate, I did wash, errands, bills, the friend and he played for several hours, had lunch and played some more. Then church, then out to a real, grown-up dinner at a relatively famous (at least in these parts) restaurant owned by a famous Asian TV chef.
We went with another couple that we really like - they're like siblings. We ordered four apps - shitaki spring rolls with a thai-style dipping sauce; calamari with a lime, ginger dipping sauce; mussels that were amazing, and foie gras dumplings in an okay broth (they were my least favorite.) We also had the restaurant's signature gimlets - tasty, but nothing extraordinary. For dinner, we got butterfish which had an interesting wasabi sauce and soy reduction, and the lobster (both signature dishes.) The lobster was also amazing - slices of tail meat in the shell, three large claws in a really delicious buttery, but not greasy sauce; and the body of the lobster was stuffed with small jasmine rice and baby lima beans - much better than it sounds. For dessert, spouse got a Meyer Lemon cake, I got the gelato - green tea (eh) Chocolate mint (not usually my favorite, but delicious) and a vanilla-ish one. They were decent, but not thrilling; The other couple got a chocolate ganache cake and a creme brule, but didn't share.

Then home, take home the babysitter, watch a not bad episode of SNL and fall asleep. Sunday, Andy was up early, and I had promised him a fast food breakfast (I'm such a good Mom) so we motored out, let spouse sleep and came back with food. We read the paper for a half-hour then to the in-laws. My tolerance is ebbing. That's all I have to say about that today.

Last night we did grocery shopping, planned the week, got ready for work/school/cubscouts and watched Survivor. I think (IMHO) that this has been one of the best seasons and I have to say to Ian - grow the hell up! and to Katie - Shut the hell up! I find it interesting that most of the players used their Q&A to whine and be vengeful, and saw some traits of myself in those whiners. And I would do Tom in a hahtbeat. Not particularly cerebral, but a clear thinker and in-charge. Also nice to look at, also into his family. Wandering....

Okay - this week we are officially on WW, so lots of veggies and healthy cooking. Tonight I'm making zucchini stew - another grandparent recipe from the side of the family that made the macaroni and cheese (didja try it? Wasn't it good?) This is the recipe - if you are on WW, it has no points. If you are eating healthy - it has no fat:
2-3 zucchini peeled. If the seeds are big, seed it
2-3 summer squash peeled. If the seeds are big, seed it.

Cut squash into rounds. If the rounds are large, cut in half. Place in a pan with: 1 large can peeled tomatoes crushed with your hand; 1 onion chopped medium; 3 large stalks of celery sliced into 1/4 inch slices. If you have a parmesan or romano cheese rind, add. Simmer until squash is tender. Serve hot or cold, with grated parmesan or romano. Very yummy.

Also cooking this weekend - stuffed peppers with brown rice and soy protien; blue fish, baked eggplant and WW pizza bake.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!