Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:14 p.m. - 2005-05-02
Weekend done, week begins

I heart diarylanders - thank you for all the nice emails and notes. The reason I have made a resolution to not bitch about my family for a month (and by "family" I mean the one that raised me, not the one I am raising) is not that I want to keep information out of d-land, but that maybe I am just wallowing in this negative crap and slowly poisoning myself, not allowing myself to feel or see anything positive about them. So there's that.

In other news - nice weekend, got my parents off on Saturday, saw the in-laws so that I can have next weekend to ourselves (and it is mothers' day, so I'm expecting some pampering.) So far, relatives left behind:

One child's sock - not Andy's
One little tiny set of girls' underpants - not mine
two packages of Thai peanut sauce
One jar of hot fudge sauce - unopened
Two mystery novels
a hearing aid battery

Neither an exciting nor indicative list.

Yesterday I was a cooking fool - using up the leftovers - I made one of Andy's favorites: Cheesy Ham Casserole using up the ham from last week and making a cheese sauce from all the leftover cheeses we had in the fridge. Poured it all over elbow macaroni and we've got dinner for tonight and an extra portion for the neighbors who are having a rough patch. Also made a great turducken soup with leftover yellow and orange tomatoes, celery, onions, carrots, limes, onions, garlic and the rest of the leftover turducken and its creole sasusage stuffing. That's dinner for tomorrow, and a container for my other neighbor who loves my soup. Then I made a big bowl of tuna fish for lunches this week and two loaves of bread - one for the soup and one for the neighbor. I also did my veggie prep - tipped and tailed fresh green beans for tonight - washed all the lettuce, chopped mushrooms, onions and celery for the week. So I'm good to go, which is a good thing because we absolutely cannot afford to go out to eat or get take out until at least 2008. Paid the bills yesterday, and we are going to have to have a frugal, frugal month.

Almost caught up with the laundry - all of the beds have been stripped, linens washed, and are in the process of being remade. I have to pick up the house this weekend because we are having company for dinner on Saturday - oops, already breaking the take-out rule, because we are getting take-out pizza since I will be away most of the day on Saturday. That means Friday I make killer brownies (ask me about buttermilk) and Saturday I will make antipasto, salsa and some chickeen breast smothered in raspberry mustard dipping sauce.

Hey! And the drive-in in our area opened this weekend!

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!