Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:36 p.m. - 2005-04-25
Mostly everything that happened since Friday
WHEW! Andy looked so amazing on Saturday at his communion. His little white suite, his round face doing his responsorial psalm. I am so blessed to have this boy as our boy. The ceremonies were lovely. We got some photos (despite the fact that the church did not want us taking any...) Everyone behaved mostly, and it only rained a little. But you know what? It rained on our wedding day; it rained the day Andy was christened, so it was only fitting that we had a spring rain.
Where did I leave off? My sister's flight was delayed Thursday, so we didn't get back home until 2:30 Friday morning. The kids slept late, but Andy and I were up at 7 and hung out. Made the cakes (chocolate pound cake with chocolate glaze per Andy's request; and a vanilla almond bundt cake with a caramel glaze...yum.) My niece and nephew got up around 11 and we headed out at noon to get my sister her fried clam fix at a restaurant one town over, then we did the grocery shopping; I dropped my sister off at the local manicure palace to get her nails done, hit the ware house store, and met my parents back at the house where we finished the rest of the cooking. Here is a recipe that you will thank me for - my Nana and Bumpy made it, and we make it all the time for big gatherings, because it is good hot or cold, and EVERYONE likes it and asks for the recipe, even though the recipe itself sounds kind of white trashy (yes, I can be a food snob.) Really - American cheese? Yes, do not fool with the ingredients, it won't be as good.

For a large 9 x 13 pan of this you need:

1 lb spaghetti or linguini
1 large can of peeled, whole tomatoes
2 large onions either sliced very thin, or chopped in a food processor
1 lb orange American cheese shredded
salt and pepper

Cook the pasta until al dente, or really about 1 minute less than it says to. While the pasta is cooking, brush or spray olive oil into a pan and pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

When the pasta is cooked, drain and set aside. Layer the pasta, one third of the tomatoes and their juice (crush them in your hand as you take them out of the can) and 1/3 of the shredded cheese. Salt and pepper to taste. Repeat layers ending with cheese. Spray or brush olive oil on a piece of foil, cover the pan in foil and bake the dish for about 45 minutes. Remove the foil and bake 15 minutes more or until the cheese bubbles and browns.

Serve hot, cold or at room temperature. It also reheats well in the microwave.

I know, it sounds icky, but it is the best thing ever. I NEVER have leftovers when we make this for a party.

Anyway, Saturday, we had about 40 people over. Went through four pounds of coffee and about a case of wine in addition to the ham, turducken, broccolini casserole, salad, rolls, veggie platter, two cakes and a huge platter of brownies.

The kids had a good time. The grown-ups had a good time, and except for my brother's significant other, everyone in our clan was under the same roof for a day, and it was nice.

Sunday, I took my flora-dora brother to the airport and my mother came along. I braced for a talking to, but she didn't bring anything up and we just chatted. Then in the afternoon, my sister, her two kids, my parents and my almost uncle and aunt, Dave, Andy and I all went to a local restaurant for an early dinner, came home, bathed the kids, hung out and then went to bed.

I had my semi-annual mammogram this morning at 7, which meant I had to leave the house at 5:45 to make it to the hospital in time, but that also meant I could make it home and bring my sister and her kids to the airport this morning, so that was nice. My parents are visiting their local friends and will be back tonight or tomorrow, so the house will be pretty quiet except for the sounds of the washing machine.

If I can figure this out with my tiny brain, I may be able to post a photo of my son, niece and nephew at a karate class on Saturday. My plump little niece looks like piece of salt water taffy in her gee.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!