Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 p.m. - 2005-04-21
Crabby guest writer
I had a huge discussion with my mother last night. Only it was just in my head. It didn't really help, it just made me more angry at myself mostly, for not figuring out this whole mother-daughter thing after nearly a half-century; for not letting things go; for hanging on to a grudge; for assuming the worst about both of us.
And then I picked my brother up from the airport at midnight. He had to file a luggage claim because a small leather embellishment was ripped off his suitcase. I brought him home, fed him cereal, went to bed and got up four hours later. I get to do it all again tonight, except may be we won't have to file a luggage claim.
Tonight we are meeting mid-way between my local brother's house and our house to have dinner. My mother was reluctant, though I'm not sure why. We're doing this so that my Flora-dora brother can go and stay at my local brother's house tomorrow. My mother just wanted us to lend him my car to make the drive, which would have left me without a car for a big chunk of the day and I have a boatload of errands to finish. My mother promised that she would come back to our house a little earlier so that we would have their rental car. I don't trust my mother's sense of time. I figured it was easier than to have a fight about the time I'd be left without transportation with my sister, her two kids and Andy. See? I have fights about things that haven't even happened yet. Because I know that no matter what, I will still lose.
So I've made myself all acidy and vinegary.
Last night spouse made dinner. We sauteed some trout in butter and panko crumbs, had steamed broccoli and sweet potato fries. It was yummy and I didn't have to do much cooking, and only had to compliment him 23 times.
I'm just pissy about everything today. But at least I know I'll get a good night's sleep tonight. HAH!
Okay, who is this nasty person who is updating? Why isn't she grateful that everyone has flown up?
Overnight spring exploded - everything this morning (despite the drop from mid 80s yesterday to mid 50s today) is in bloom and beautiful.
Tomorrow I make cakes, visit with my Flora-dora niece and nephew, make my grandmother's mac 'n cheese casserole which has tomatoes in it; wrap gifts and order pizza for the 20 people who will be around for dinner tomorrow night.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!