Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:55 a.m. - 2005-04-20
The waves pound the shore
I came home from work last night - the house was moderately trashed with my mother's stuff - two dresses she had borrowed from me - now missing buttons; some books she wants to give to someone; their breakfast dishes. And there it was - the gift bag I had asked her to bring to my brother with his birthday gift and cards. The mature part of me wants to say - oh they just forgot. But the conscious part of my brain is ssaying - f'in passive aggressive. I asked her, so she won't do it. Cleansing breath. Prayer for maturity.

Last night I had to make dinner since we weren't going to the birthday dinner - I had bought some ground chicken, so I mixed it with some minced ginger, minced garlic, minced onion, minced cilantro, minced scallion and a bit of minced pepper, then I mixed it with a beaten egg and some panko bread crumbs and made meatballs. While they were cooking, I dug out a mango, just a bit past its prime, mixed it with some more garlic and cilantro; chopped tomato, lime juice and and a splash of fish sauce. I also roasted some peppers, onions, garlic and chopped carrot, and served everything over rice. It was delish. Andy even had two helpings (of the meat - wouldn't touch the veggies.)

It has been unseasonably warm, but it is supposed to drop back to normal or below tomorrow, and they are predicting rain for this weekend. Boo hoo. But I remembered, it rained on our wedding, it rained for Andy's christening, so it'll just be fitting that it rains on the first communion.

I am hopeful that the new pope will revert back to his more liberal roots, but I doubt it. Women will continue to remain second class citizens in the catholic church, but I have to hope I can work from within. I find it telling that nuns have to take vows of poverty, but priests do not.

Tonight my brother comes in, so I pick him up at midnight. Tomorrow he hangs out with Andy. He is peevish that I won't be able to let him use my car since I have to work Thursday.

I am praying for maturity. Mostly in me.


a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!