Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:05 p.m. - 2005-04-06
My birthday boy
The whirlwind of activity that is Andy: Left work yesterday to pick up Andy for first communion rehearsal, picked up his friend (also for rehearsal) and sat in the church for a half hour of silence - the kids were downstairs in the lower church, though I couldn't hear them. And then forty-five little boys and girls with "prayer hands" filed into the church and down the aisle and sat in the pews in front listening to their teachers. It was very sweet - surprisingly there are many more boys than girls for this group (there are at least six groups of 45 kids doing this on consecutive Saturdays...)
Andy gets to recite the responsorial psalm, and we practiced it ten times last night. The teachers (young and old,) each came by at some point during the rehearsal to tell me how special Andy was, and I agreed gratefully.

Then we headed off to meet our friends for dinner - their three daughters, 8,5, and just 2; and Andy had his usual - an enormous plate of ravioli with a side of four meatballs. He was too full for his slab of moussy chocolate cake. (I agree, I don't like moussy cakes, it has to be solid and dense, or none at all!)

After dinner, we came home, finished his homework (Why can't he figure out fractions???) and cuddled a bit before I hustled him off to bed. It was a very sweet day and one of many I will treasure and take out when he is making me crazy as a teenager.

Tonight I have a cub scout committee meeting - just grown-ups; and then I have to get cracking on the laundry or we won't have any clothes to take away this weekend.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!