Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:57 a.m. - 2005-03-28
Like I really mean it
Okay - so we were rewarded with a beautiful spring-like weekend - no snow, no rain - and the kids got to have the neighborhood easter egg hunt on Sunday. My neighborfriend and I stuffed 343 plastic eggs Saturday night. For the brunch, I was vice-president of bacon so I made 4 lbs of it, some muffins and picked up some donut holes. I was also vice president of dessert for dinner at my brother's house, so I made a chocolate cake with chocolate icing and garnished it with malted milk eggs; I also made a pound cake, sliced strawberries and marinated them in a bit of vanilla sugar and whipped cream. My brother marinated leg o'lamb in garlic, ginger, cumin, soy, worcestershire sauce, a pinch of sugar and coriander, then grilled it. It was delicious. We made sticky roasted potatoes (roasted with some of the marinade and the garlic/ginger, then slightly mashed; asparagas and peas. I'm hungry again. The kids got along great, my brother and I took a musical trip down memory lae and the 70s and 80s performers we used to listen too - there was even a scene reminiscent of "The Big Chill" where everyone was washing the dishes and dancing in the kitchen. A very nice Easter.
Andy ended his long, chocolate fast. I told him Saturday night that if he woke up early, he could come wake me up and I had a piece of chocolate waiting for him. He was up at 5:45 a.m. We waited about an hour to discover if the bunny had come and he got a pedometer, chocolate rabbit, bag of cadbury mini-eggs, hershey bar, peanut butter cups, and plastic eggs filled with other kinds of chocolate. No peeps (we're not a peeps family.) No jelly beans (Andy does not like them.) Spouse got me some fancy Italian giandua and a little blowfish magnet; I got him some cashews, key lime cookies and a giant cadbury bar. I need a pickle now.
This week is busy (of course!) I am getting my hair cut tonight - YAY! Tomorrow, I'm going out to take a neighborr for dinner for her b irthday; Spouse and Andy are working on their pinewood derby car; Wednesday and Thursday I get to stay home; Friday is cleaning night; Saturday I'm volunteering at church for Andy's catechism class, Saturday night we are going out with the neighbors; Sunday is D&O with the in-laws. Then we start all over again. Spouse's brother and his wife are expecting. Should make for an interesting family dynamic. His brother also doesn't make much time for his family, so of course he is the favorite.
Here is what made me laugh this weekend: Andy loves to be tickled and demands it frequently. When spouse and I were exhausted Friday night and trying to entertain him, he looked at us both and said "Tickle me like you mean it." And that was that.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!