Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:05 p.m. - 2005-03-02
But is it in Asia or Asia minor?
Because I live to write about my teevee viewing habits, I have to note that I watched the series finale of NYPD Blue, and of course I am mourning a little, because this has been one of my favorite shows. Except this year, I haven't watched it once, and have a pile of tapes that spouse has made for me, because I RARELY get to stay up past 10, let alone until 11 when the show would be concluded! They did a little over-the-top "we cure cancer" kind of retrospective before the last episode, and I remembered all of the characters I loved and hated. I personally never thought David Caruso was all that, and I really, really couldn't stand Sherri Stringfield. LOVED James, LOVED Baldwin, LOVED John, named my son after Sipowitz, and adored Theo, who we never got to see in the finale. I thought the writing in the episode where Bobby Simone dies (didn't see it? sorry - and Rosebud is a sled) came from someone climbing inside my head and wripping out a few pages of things I had thought about or chanted or sung to myself. Okay - back to real life.
Andy went to school today, eager to see his friends (whom he hadn't seen in a week and a half because of school vacation, and don't get me started on why we can't even go six consecutive weeks without a BREAK in school.) Anyway. He had his Asia project to bring in- the second grade kids had to make a map of a continent (he was assigned Asia) and list major features - a river, mountain ranges, etc. My son is very bright, but not particularly motivated, so we had to find the balance between suggesting things he might include in his map, and doing the stupid thing for him. He did do it himself, though I could not find the boot-shaped Arab peninsula on it. He also has atrocious hand-writing, though we worked on it quite a bit. He has my tendencies which is why I see it so clearly - he just wants to get the damn thing done and move on to the next thing with his school work. There is nothing yet that excites him. I always wondered when he was an infant if he would be fascinated by dinosaurs or pirates or cars, but there is, at present (note I didn't say 'presently' which actually means 'soon') nothing that ignites him.
He has a belt test tonight, so I have to fly home from work, get him in his gee (or is it ghee - that's butter I know...) and get him prepped. Hopefully he won't cough a lung out during the process. He still has that cough, but seems to be doing better. We were only up 12 times last night.
Yesterday I managed to sew on all of his badges and my badges since we have to wear our uniforms for tomorrow's big cub scout to-do.
Tonight is another cub scout two hour meeting after the belt test. I hate weeks like these.
Last night's dinner - browned some turkey meat with garlic, onions and cilantro, drained off the fat, added some cumin, chile powder and adobo; added some canned tomatoes and a bit of tomato paste and simmered it. Then I took the crushed bits of tortilla chips we had and layered it with the meat, grated jack cheese and more tortilla chips in a casserole and baked it until the cheese was melted and browning. It as good, but I needed a pepcid after dinner. Tonight's menu? I AM NOT COOKING BECAUSE I WILL NOT BE HOME, so spouse has a home-made teevee dinner of the asian chicken and green beans; and Andy has some turkey with roasted potatoes that I froze a few weeks ago.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!