Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:25 a.m. - 2005-02-21
Snow and meals
This weekend there were little signs of spring peeking out - the tips of the trees are just a little reddish, meaning the sap is starting to run. Some moss is peeking through the leftover blizzard snow on our lawn, and the squirrels are making little divets in the back yard, digging up acorns where the ground is soft enough to do so. And of course, c@dbury mini chocolate eggs (the hard kind, not the ooky creamy kind) are appearing at the grocery store and in my belly.
Today? Six more inches of snow. My state has chosen not to plow today since most of its inhabitants do not have to work, except for spouse and me! However, when I crossed the state line, the major highway was suddenly plowed, and the roads were easier to navigate. It took me about an hour and a half to get into work this morning. Usually it is about 45 minutes. Spouse made it in okay too.
I cooked hardly at all this weekend, except I made a couple of quiches for the in-laws with some leftover crab and asparagas and four kinds of cheese; I also made a prosciutto and asparagas quiche for us tonight. Friday I was too full from lunch to eat dinner, so spouse and Andy had leftovers. Saturday, I took Andy to karate, then he had lunch and a playdate with his best friend, so spouse and I ate leftovers again. And Saturday night after 9 loads of wash, cleaning and bill-paying, I declared that we would go to our favorite Mexican restaurant, which we did. Then we picked up some supplies for the cub scout pack meeting tonight and made a spray painted tunnel for games night. Saturday, Andy decided to watch the Indiana Jones movies and LOVED them. He wants to rent all three and have a marathon.
Sunday, Andy and I got up early. (Read, Andy got up early...) we went to church (the no-singing one at 7:30) came home, had oatmeal and went to the in-laws for the D&O visit. MIL seems in a decent mood. FIL is FIL. Stopped at the craft store on the way home, bought some storage stuff for my scrapbooking paper, did the grocery shopping, helped the neighbors with a project, came home and cleaned a bit. I'm having a scrapbooking class tonight and ditching the pack meeting. Spouse is picking up the slack thank heavens! Spoke with most of my siblings who are taking their children to various movies. But I still feel guilty.
Watched the SNL special off and on last night. Huge memories came flooding back - it was a big deal in my college dorm to gather at 11:30 on Saturday nights and watch - and those were the first five seasons. Of course, we didn't know how ground-breaking the show was, we just laughed our heads off! And now, all this time later, I am sad to say that the show is just not funny. there are a few bright moments, but it isn't the same. Has my sense of humour changed? Has the world changed? Are the writers too self-absorbed with private jokes? Or am I just too old to get them any more???
I hardly have to cook this week either! Tonight quiche - tomorrow, out to dinner with friends for their daughter's birthday. Wednesday, salmon with fennel; Thursday maybe a mommies' night out. Friday pizza night. Wheeeee! Saturday we are going out to dinner with spouse's colleagues at one of our favorite restaurants near Hahvahd, so we'll have to drive a bit. Sunday, we're taking my little=old=lady friend to lunch. We see her a few times a year. I better not eat anything else this week.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!