Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:44 p.m. - 2005-02-17
But he volunteered to put it in the fridge
Okay, okay, okay - but first a few words from the meaner side of me:

1. I was so efficient last night, got home from a day-long meeting/session - 9 hours in a chair, had dinner (spouse made salmon and broccoli) did wash, and then made supper for tonight. I sauteed onions, garlic, cilantro, cumin, chili powder and epazote in a little olive oil. Then I added ground lean turkey. Then tomatoes, some jalapenos, some corn. It smelled delicious. I layered it with some leftover corn tortillas and cheese and made a Mexican lasagna. I covered it in foil and left it on the counter to cool. Spouse volunteered to put it in the fridge when we went up to bed last night. I got up this morning...it was still on the counter. I cannot speak of it. Spouse is in charge of dinner tonight.

2. I sent a long letter around the holidays to a friend from college. We were close at times, but drifted apart, no biggie, but we kept in touch periodically. I hadn't heard from her in a few years, so I thought I'd drop her a note. I got an envelope in the mail from her last night. It was a solicitation from her 15 year old son to sponsor him in a marathon. So I'm feeling all guilty - do I just write out a check and send it half-way across the country to a boy I've never met and swallow it; or do I just ignore it? Stuff to ponder.

Here is the Thursday Three:

1. Pizza - thin, thick or deep dish crust?

Thin - definitely.

2. One thing you'd like to learn to do before you die: Tap dance or play the cello.

3. Do you floss? Yes, I am a zealous flosser. (could be a good band name.)


Oh yah - I was sewing the other night - rather mending. I have this ancient white and red sewing basket that is a jumble of things. It was either my grandmother's or my great aunt's basket, so there are ancient wooden spools of thread, hat pins, packages of hooks and eyes, metal thimbles, crochet hooks, old packages of needles and a pin cushion that is made of satin. It just struck me that here was this connection to my Nana or her sister, and there I was fixing Andy's shirt. I liked the feeling. The large wooden spools were from my Nana. We had dozens of them when we were little and used to roll them around the floor. My Nana used to be a thread winder in the mills and was very proud that she had never lost a finger. She had lovely, small hands. She was quick and learned fast. I wonder what would have happened if she had been able to go to high school or even college. She was raised in a convent either in northern New England or in Canada, with her two other sisters. Her father put them there shortly after their mother died, and so when they were released (at around age 16) they had forgotten how to speak English and could only speak French. I wish I knew more about her life then - how she had the courage to leave the convent (though she said the nuns were not kind to her) and go and live in the big city (New York) - she went back to her home town (Fall River/New Bedford) where her sisters were waiting for her and then they all headed to New York. She met my grandfather there, and eventually they had my mother. I didn't find out until I was in my 20s, that my grandparents didn't marry until a few months until after I was born. I asked my mother if she thought it strange that they never celebrated anniversaries, but she couldn't really remember.
All that from sewing a button.

a hui hou marama

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!