Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:08 p.m. - 2004-12-16
Snow or rain?
My uncle (who is not a blood uncle, but who is like a brother to both of my parents since they are both only children) lost his mother last night. She was 97 and had lived independently since her husband died in the early 1980s. She took no medication - no blood pressure pills, no cholesterol medication, nothing. Her heart began failing late last week, and she died in her sleep last night. I met her only once - I was 9 or 10, and I can see her waving from her front stoop. Yet, I feel her all around me - her hands on my hands, and I feel she wants me to look at her face, though I cannot remember it.

In more earthly news, I was supposed to do a thousand things last night, and instead we went for Mexican food, got too full, and I came home and watched "The Civil War" which I've seen a million times and love to watch. Then I went to sleep. Tonight is a holiday gathering with co-workers from my previous job. It is a select group so we can complain about the people who are not there. Tomorrow is the holiday lunch of my current job. People are excited because it used to be a pot-luck here at the office and this is the first time they are going to a restaurant.

We are supposed to get a huge storm on Monday. We fly out at the crack of dawn on Tuesday. Gotta figure this out.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!