Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:43 a.m. - 2004-11-22
I disappoint myself too
This was not my favorite weekend. First of all, I'm petty and stewed that my siblings forgot my birthday. Not even a call. It made me crazy for wanting it so much, and then I felt worse for being shallow. I have issues AND things. I'll own it.
Spouse and Andy made me a lovely birthday in the evening - fresh flowers, home-made pizza, two new shirts and a Lou Bega CD. For dessert I got my own pint of Phish Food. I shared, and there is still some in the freezer for tonight. We all got in our jammies and watched the Wizard of Oz and fell asleep. Saturday I was still stewing because then I remembered that my friends also forgot my birthday. Then I slapped myself for being so immature. Some people are birthday acknowledgers, some are not. The phone rang around 7:30 - it was my mother. Andy answered, but I knew something must have been wrong for her to call that early, even though EVERYONE knows we have been up for hours at our house. Andy gave me the phone after a moment, and I asked what was wrong. She is in the hospital. At first they thought it was kidney stones, though she isn't in any pain, she is just bleeding; but now they don't know. She was scheduled for a few more tests over the weekend, and another this morning, but regardless, they won't be coming for Thanksgiving. We're disappointed, my mother was disappointed, but now we just need to find out what is going on. We should know more tonight. Yesterday she had a test and the physician said he doesn't see a stone, and that the thing that the other doctor thought was a stone is not. He said it is not kidney cancer, but it doesn't seem to be an infection either. At 8, my friend Sarah called to ask about Pancetta. At 9, my future sister-in-law called to ask if she should go and see my mother in the hospital. They live about an hour away. She and my brother are in their early 40s. Why do they have to call me to ask? She asked what we did last night and I told her about my birthday dinner. She said "Oh, I guess we forgot your birthday," and then my brother got on the phone to tell me that I was wrong that Saturday was the 19th, not Friday. It wasn't joking around. It was "I am never wrong" talking. I told him I had to go and hung up. At 9:15, Sarah called back with more questions about risotto. Then laundry, then karate, then groceries, then church, blah. blah. blah.
Sunday, inlaw D&O. They had chores for us. We took MIL to lunch, dropped off the turkey and stuffing we made for them for Thanksgiving and came home to finish the weekend.
Yes, I am grateful that my hurts and disappointments aren't important ones; yes, I recognize that I am shallow and petty.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!