Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:35 a.m. - 2004-11-15
It is way too early for winter
It was a weekend of things - Friday, I've already lost track of. What the hell did I do on Friday? Oh yah, we had company. I made a breast of turkey rolled with cranberry/apple stuffing - it was delish. I like to think of it as the overture to Thanksgiving next week. Then it snowed. We were supposed to get anywhere from a "dusting" to 2-3 inches of slush that would melt by Saturday morning. We woke up Saturday morning to a freakin' winter wonderland. We got 9 inches. Our plow guy, who I hadn't even called yet to make sure we were on his list - hadn't even attached his plow to his truck yet. So Saturday morning I made cinnamon rolls (the morning version of pork roast - remember at our house, when there's a storm, we cook pork...) then we shoveled (shovelled?) They both look wrong. Maybe because it isn't supposed to snow and stick until December or maybe JANUARY around here!!! Andy and I ran some errands - what a surprise - went to lunch with our overnight guests, then went to pick out some birthday gifts and a Christmas present for spouse with Andy's allowance. Then we came home, cleaned up some, and Andy had a friend over to play in the snow. After an hour in the snow, two frosty little boys came in to watch retro cartoons - Tom and Jerry I think. Then the friend's mother wanted them to go sledding in her backyard. It is not a sledding backyard, but it has a little hill and so Andy and his friend walked to their house with their tube sleds. 15 minutes later the frantic mother calls - Andy has crashed into a cement wall and I can hear him wailing in the background. Spouse starts to lose it, we drive to the friends' house and there is Andy with a plum on his forehead - a big purple egg over his right eye and snow scrapes on his right cheek and under his nose. He is crying, and I'm trying to figure if there is a concussion, but he didn't lose consciousness, he says he doesn't have a headache, but that the scrapes sting. We bring him home, clean him up and he begs us to stay home with him (we were supposed to go to dinner with friends and had a sitter.) I tell him we'll stay if he wants us too, but he loves this sitter and after about an hour of soothing, he is fine - not hungry for anything except fast food chicken nuggets. His appetite is fine, he is fine, but he looks pretty bad and keeps checking himself in the mirror. He starts to cry again because he is worried about what people will say about his face - I'm not sure where this vanity comes from. Anyway, he decides he wants the sitter to come, and we go to dinner, but cut it short out of motherguilt.
Yesterday - the in-laws again decided they don't want to see us. They don't want to do Thanksgiving either. Spouse is down with dat.
Yesterday morning - church (7:30 no singing mass); newspapers, 5 loads of laundry, and I decide to make a pork roast and mushroom risotto, only I don't have the right kind of rice and only frozen mushrooms, so I make it with jasmine rice and the frozen bag o shrooms. It was awful. Spouse said it was okay. The roast and the asparagas were great, but the rice - yuck. Andy's best girl friend had a birthday party and we went to see Polar Express with her. I really enjoyed it - the animation is fascinating, the story sweet. I've read the book to Andy many times. We have bells.
I have one week until my parents arrive to be transported to my brother's house for Thanksgiving. Much cleaning and planning to do. At least this year I won't be cooking for Thanksgiving.
Tonight is pack meting and a skit around the "indoor campfire." Tomorrow is den meeting. Wednesday is spouse's birthday; Thursday is Book Fair night at Andy's school and Friday is my birthday. I am old. Kind of a big week.
The thing that is so wierd about this past weekend was the push from late summer weather (it was 64 last week) to instant winter - different clothes, different smells in the air - we haven't even finished raking the leaves! And when it was winter last in my head, I was still looking for work and feeling desperate. The cold wakes up those feelings again. I'd prefer just to feel cozy thank you very much.
This week's goal: Get rid of 20 things in the closets.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!