Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:56 a.m. - 2004-11-08
Weekendorama
Got home from work Friday, picked up Andy and spouse and started the weekend errands - went to a very cool New England chain store - the "Christmas Tree Shops" that actually carries very little stuff about the holiday except around the holiday. It is a most fabulous store. After we found some treasures, we went and had Mexican food - Andy's pick. He ate four tacos. For Andy, a taco consists of the shell stuffed with cheese, and a bowl of meat on the side. He ate everything, including half of my cheese enchilada with green sauce and rice. Saturday morning, we were up and at 'em early, took Andy, spouse and Andy's friend to breakfast, then we ran four more errands, hit the library and a craft fair, skipped lunch and went to Andy's cub scout meeting which was at his Karate school. It was a great meeting and the boys loved the Karate instructor. Three more errands, church, then home for dinner - home-made pizza. Did some cleaning. Sunday, the in-laws did not want to see us after all. Boo hoo. Did the grocery shopping, four loads of wash, cleaned Andy's room and got rid of another toy store full of toys, picked up photos, made dinner, watched American Dreams, collapsed into bed. My house is really cleaner, but still looks like a bomb went off because:

1. I have big boxes of stuff to go to the consignment store and donate and I couldn't get an appointment with the consignment store until December

2. I have piles of stuff to wrap and ship for Christmas.

3. We still have way too much stuff in our lives.

Even Andy said he didn't want too much for Christmas because he'd just be cleaning it up anyway, and he loves his room the way it is now. I'm not sure if that is a good thing or a bad thing.

I treated spouse and I to a new comforter, which we put on the bed this weekend. It was heavenly. We had been using four quilts, and it would still take me an hour to get warm - and I AM ALWAYS HOT, so I haven't figured that out. When I am up and awake, I always feel like I have too many clothes on and I'd like a big fat fan blowing in my face; but when it comes time to go to sleep, I am practically shivering. Hmmmmm.

My mother and sister are back from their week-long Carribean cruise. They said they did lots of relaxing and napping and sleeping and had a great time, so I don't want to hear how tired they are this week!

Here is what I've figured out about myself and I'm not so sure I like it:

A. I judge people. Alot. And most of the time, they fall short of my exacting standards, which makes me feel disappointed and mean. Yes, I realize they are MY standards they are falling short of.

B. I am a score keeper. I am eternally looking for "fairness." I usually don't find it, which again makes me disappointed and feeling mean. (See "A.")

I think this must be my mid-life crisis.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!