Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:05 a.m. - 2004-11-01
Bit o' this 'n that
A day after halloween trick-or-treat bag of thoughts. The conference was pretty interesting - it was for elementary and middle school principals. They seemed a nice enough bunch, though very cliquish. If a bunch of principals came from the same town, they sat together, ate together, saved seats for each other, went to the same programs...it was supposed to be a "networking" opportunity, but there didn't seem to be much networking. In fact, most of them seemed desperately clingy to stay with one another. The speaker on Thursday night was interesting - part comic, part lecturer and basically told the audience that if they didn't love their job they should get the hell out because it wasn't just their lives they were mucking up, it was the lives of children who need leaders to inspire their teachers. That's been resonating with me all weekend, not that I'm an educator, but that we should be passionate about our work. I teared up a little thinking about how these people hold the future of these kids in their palms and I'm not so sure that they think or care about that sometimes.

Weekend was fun - lots of Andy time - The conference I was working/attending got over around 1:30, and I drove a co-worker home on a beautiful fall day. We adired the cows and the leaves (spouse had called me that morning to tell me about the beautiful cows.) I picked Andy up early from his day-camp program and we came home, played some games of his design where I am a confused person calling around and always getting him at his different jobs - police man, fire man, ice cream man, librarian, etc. He works all the jobs. Then we made our home-made pizza, got into our jammies, watched the teevee and waited for spouse to call, which he did around 9:30. Saturday morning we were up and at 'em, breakfast, Karate (Andy is invited to take a belt test on Wednesday YAY) and then my neighbor/friend called to see if we could watch her daughter - they were going to a soccer game for their son in the pouring rain, and so we took the daughter - Andy's second best friend, and we all went to lunch - another mother, Andy's best friend Peter, Jenny and me, then headed to a warehouse store, and home, where all the kids came over to play until dinner time. The friends went home, Andy had supper and we went to church. Spouse got home about the same time I did. Found out a friend of ours got laid off last week, with 9 months of severance. What am I doing wrong? I got three weeks???
Sunday - no in laws! YAY! Laundry, papers, grocery shopping, making lunch for the glee club that came to rake our lawn - 60 bags full of leaves and an hour later, it didn't even look like we raked at all! Then Halloween - Andy was a vampire, but his special teeth wouldn't stick and he was upset. Spouse sort of fuels it, but I said if Andy was that upset, maybe he should go home and lie down to get over it. That snapped him out of it and he trudged off with the rest of the neighborhood to collect candy which he gave away to the other kids. He is a sweetie. We had only about 40 kids come by - so I have another case of popcorn that I'll probably bring into work this week. Where have all the kids gone???
My mother, sister and some of my mother's friends are off on a week long cruise. I think this is my mother's seventh cruise this year. It helps to live in the state where most of the cruise ships port.
The in laws have decided that they don't want to do thanksgiving or have us over. which is fine - I'd be happy to just have the three of us, however I'm waiting for the other shoe to drop like the day before when she'll call and change her mind. My parents are coming up and heading over to my brother's - what a surprise! and having Thanksgiving with them. We get to pick them up from the airport, ferry them back and forth, but they'll spend the holiday with my brother. I'm just not saying anything to my parents about where we'll be because there are always enormous changes at the last minute.
I do not always heart the holidays.
This week is another week of scouts, CCD, committees and in-law dealings. Work is busy too.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!