Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:22 p.m. - 2004-09-22
On the trail
Just came in from having lunch with a fellow newbie - a lovely young woman with whom I'll be working. She suggested the shrimp cobb salad - absolutely delish, and the perfect lunch for this beautiful last afternoon of summer (yes I know autumn came in at 12:22, but I'm still thinking it is a summer day, since it started out as a summer morning.)

Last night was my first night of denmotherdom. The first three boys arrived, they sat quietly waiting for the others - their parental units went into the kitchen to get themselves some coffee. Two more boys arrived - the air started to crackle with unexpressed energy. Finally by the time boy seven arrived and we could begin, there was so much energy transmitting itself around the house that no one could sit still. Every room was filled with fidgeting and giggling and jumping. It was as amusing as it was frustrating, because we have two weeks to complete this thing called the bobcat trail so that the boys can move on to becoming wolf cubs. The bobcat trail is - how shall I phrase this - oh I'll use the description from the boys last night - SO BOOOORING. I am surprised that 7 year olds would voice that to an adult they did not know well. The pronouncement came about mid-way through the meeting as we went over the handshake, and the rules of akela, and the pledge. It was boring. We just need to get it done. So the other den mother and I switched gears and asked each boy to sign their name on our new banner. We are the flying eagles - roar. Manly. Then we finished up the last four steps of the bobcat trail. We'll review next meeting, and be done with that.

Then it is power tools and knots. My life is a whirlwind!

Tomorrow the other den mommy and I will meet to plan out the rest of the meetings through the holidays. I'm all about having a plan.

I have nothing else to record.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!