Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 p.m. - 2004-09-13
Turkeys in the morning
Oh how the weekends fly by. Saturday - more karate, new photos, grocery shopping, laundry and hanging out with Andy who has just discovered the joys of flashlight tag. Friday night and Saturday night he ran around with the neighborhood kids and came in hot and sweaty and coverd with mosquito bites despite being deeted. I am fighting with my inner demons about letting him play out at dusk and after dark because around here we have Eastern equine encephalitis, which until recently had been pretty dormant, but three people in towns around us have died this summer from it. I'm just trying to figure out how to balance that fear with the joy of his playing outside at night with his friends - a joy I remember myself. Am I just too paranoid? Probably.

Sunday we did the D&O w/the inlaws - took MIL to lunch, talked to FIL, schlepped away the giant tv which is now in our garage, smelling of cigarettes. Don't know where we'll put it yet, I just know i didn't want to deal with it again last night. Anyway, Andy got sick during lunch (probably the pound of cheese he ate at grandma's) so we postponed our shopping. Actually, spouse and I felt kind of ill yesterday, don't know if it was the birthday party pizza from Saturday night, or just some stomach bug.

I am hearing pumpkins call Andy and me. I think it is still a bit warm to be hunting and carving them.

This morning Andy came up while I was getting ready for work - he was laughing hysterically because he looked outside and there was a "herd of turkeys Mom - like 8 or 9 of them in our front yard, and they were walking around and then crossed the street and went into the woods behind the neighbor's house across the street." He laughed all through breakfast. What a great way to start the week!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!