Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:25 a.m. - 2004-09-09
Don't let it come in
Huge project number one down, moving on to huge project number two. It is incredibly humid - again I feel as though someone is constantly licking me or breathing on me. I'm sure it is the remnants of Frances. Everyone in my FloraDora family is resettled in their homes with power and water and air conditioning. Everyone is cleaning out the dead food in their refrigerators after five days without power. Everyone is searching for gas and groceries.

Yesterday's retreat at work went well despite the fact that I had less than two weeks to pull it together. It just shows you can't go wrong when you buy a car load of art supplies and let everyone go to town. In my office are now 15 large canvases full of paint, glitter, buttons, glue, ribbon and team creativity. Did a feed back form - everyone said this year's retreat was so much better than last year's retreat. I can just imagine how good next year's is going to be!

Last night I had my first den-mother meeting. Did I mention how much I hate bugs and camping? I was the only woman there, it amazes me sometimes that men make it through the day. They spent most of the evening saying that they had lost paperwork, didn't know who was in their den, picking at scabs, making jokes about technology, dazzling each other with the power of their computers or cars or lawnmowers. It was just bizarre. My co-den mother and I are meeting tonight to plan out the year and organize.

Oh yah - and Andy gets a special award as one of eight scouts out of move than 90 who attended all the summer events. WOO HOO! They asked for suggestions on what they should give as a prize and I suggested compasses. Looks like their getting compasses.

I feel like there are fields of depression around me - in diaries I read, in the newspaper, in the office, maybe even spouse a little - his first term of the year is always a bit hard on him, and I know he is upset about his father. I am trying hard not to invite it in to keep me company. I'm working to not let its shores invite me in for a swim. I think I've turned another corner in my relationship with my mother and though I don't feel as close to her - in fact we've grown less and less close, I feel less able to be hurt by her. Sheesh it only takes 46 years.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!