Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:17 a.m. - 2004-08-20
I love fall
My brain is so full today! Last night we had a bbq/Kvetching session with my former corworkers - it was such fun and a little sad (you know, because I can't allow anything to be all good...) because I realize how much I miss them. I don't know if I'll have that kind of atmosphere in this job, but I seem to have a little group of folks from almost every job with whom I keep in touch and we have periodic get togethers.

Spouse is on overload at the moment, between his father's broken leg, the beginning of the semester and my familiy visiting, I think he might be losing it a little bit. He is teaching a new class that he used to co-teach with a chemistry professor (he has never taught chemistry) and this year the professor is on sabbatical, so spouse has to teach it by himself. He is going to do a great job, but he doesn't know that yet.

I noticed last night that some trees are starting to get their autumn flavors as I was driving to the party - the smallest changes of red and yellow are beginning to appear. I love fall. I bake alot of pies in the fall. I wear my softest, wooliest sweaters. I get my bestest socks out in fall. I put the quilt on the bed and think about pumpkins. I put Andy in pants and soft cotton shirts. I look for my gloves. I start my Christmas lists. I take out my crockpot. Andy and I collect acorns, because we can get ALOT of them. I drink cider. I cuddle a little closer to my furnace-man under the covers. I buy Halloween stickers. I sniff for that smell of leaves, either matted or burning. I watch the squirrels grow fatter. I snip and dry the herbs I've been growing on the front steps on the night before the first frost. I mourn my pots of pansies, but buy pots of mums to replace them. I love fall.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!