Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:09 p.m. - 2004-08-13
Rant work, rant comedy
Watta day. Actually, it started last night. I have inherited this program at work (a conference pairing the university, the mayor of this fine city and the division I work for) which has invited mayors, superintendents, city council members, school board chairmen and legislators to come for a one day summit to discuss educational funding models. We have some fairly high profile people speaking, but didn't until last week because I was in high hag mode - "No, we can't publicize an event if there is nothing to publicize." I am such a crab that way. Anyway, I also inherited the nitty gritty stuff - mailing, invitations, database, all the crap that goes with it. We had just set up a protocol so that people went to one point of contact for printed materials (me or my co-worker.) But one of my colleagues, someone I actually enjoy working with, took some matters into his own hands and went to design while I was at lunch yesterday to add a name to the program of speakers which was being printed yesterday afternoon. He went directly to the designers who were setting up the printing. He added a name. He misspelled the name. So all the programs got printed with an incorrect speaker name. He waited to tell me about it until just as I was leaving, so I ended up staying another two hours to print what we could in house, and the designer who was a peach, was concerned because we were running out of colored ink and paper. AAUGH! Then this morning, I got in very early and found a huge note taped over my computer "SEE ME." This same co-worker had given the printer the wrong version of the letter after he made some changes, and the phone number to our offices was incorrect. Please just shoot me now.

I am recovered. We finished the mailing this morning - three Ph.Ds, an MSW and me. Why? Because the clerical staff was on vacation. All five of them. Hey - we got it done, the mailing is out and we have a good program. I just have to get used to the way things are done around here.

It only cost me a lunch for the database guy who printed out all new invitation letters, and next summer I'm probably painting the designer's house. But the mailing is done.

Can I just say that Alonzo Boddin SO DESERVED to be THE LAST COMIC STANDING, and he did not win? I feel like this was rigged because he was consistently so much better than any of the other comics. I thought John Heffron's material was not particulary original, and his voice was a Bobcat Goldswait wannabe. That's my comedic rant. I also thought the last six hours could have been condensed into fifteen minutes. Whatcha gonna do?

Yesterday the sky was filled with just about every kind of cloud. Andy and I call it "bad painting" not because we think it looks bad, but because if we saw it in a painting, we would have thought the artist had his mind on something else. I'm not sure if all the clouds had to do with the tropical weather we're about to get - probably. As Andy says - "Weather is big."

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!