Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:48 p.m. - 2004-08-11
Gotta figure this out...
I can't believe I've only been home a week since vacation - it seems like months ago. Except when I come home from work and see the undone laundry and the two suitcases waiting to be put back into the "puppet theater." We have this closet thing over the staircase that is like a little closet, only it starts four feet off the ground, so it reminds me of a puppet theater, and that's what spouse and I call it. We're so creative you know.

It is just one week until my parents come. I asked them nearly two months ago if they would come to help watch Andy, as his summer programs are over on Friday, and school doesn't start until September 1. They agreed, and I was pleased. I am paying for their plane tickets and renting a car for them. Except that my mother and my brother are currently on difficult terms, mostly because he doesn't always fill in everyone on his plans, so my parents feel hurt that they are not invited to see his kids, and my brother gets mad at me because he says they are always at my house. Well - that's because I INVITE them, and ask them to come, and let them know what I am planning. Anyway, because it wouldn't be an entry without some type of whining, now my parents are heading to my brother's house the day after they arrive, and we have to scramble for two days of day care. I'm so confused!!!

Then the next weekend, they are going to see their friends in another state. When I'm at my pissiest, I tell myself that they don't want to spend time with us. I have to work during the week, so I thought I'd at least get to spend one weekend with them, since they'll be at my brother's on the other. What is the freakin' story? Am I expecting too much? I have to figure this out.

So work is getting busier, which makes me feel better, because I have to say doing alot of nothing while trying to look busy is very draining.

Andy had a great time at his field trip, but was dismayed that he did not get to go to the gift shop. He did like the hour and a half bus ride because "the driver went really, really fast Mom!" Oh joy. We are bracing for the remnants of two hurricanes/tropical storms this weekend. I am hoping that our neighbors' construction project will not flood our basement if that happens. Oy. (I am borrowing that from another d-lander.) Last night's dinner: Broiled bluefish, corn, tomato and basil salad, sauteed spinach and fresh figs. I am so full of fiber I could be plywood.

No highway furniture of late, but today there were six dead skunks between my house and work. Eeeew.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!