Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:43 a.m. - 2004-08-09
Weekend wrap
The sky is a perfect, dry, clear blue out my window and I am the only one in the office today. WOO HOO! Actually, I had scheduled some appointments before I realized that today was a holiday in the state in which I work. I asked my boss last month if I could work today and take the day another day, and he said that was fine, and so I am the only one of some 130 employees here. It is fabulously quiet, I am getting a fair amount accomplished. I have a meeting in a large town in the next state later this afternoon, so I'll head out for that after lunch and meet with some writer/reporter types and see what happens. This weekend was nice and somewhat productive. Friday, we went in search of a lamp for Andy's room at a large chain store that had just advertised it in its flyer. It was sold out. Nationwide. Bummer. We also picked up some groceries at TR@der Joe's so we're set for a few weeks. I stopped at the farmers' market on the way home and got some yummy tomatoes, basil, lemon cucumbers? who knows, but they are nice and sweet; and some zinnias. I felt all earthy. Saturday, Andy spent the day with his friend while I did fourteen loads of wash. He swam, he skated, he ate a casserole, he had a blast. Then we went and returned some things we got before vacation. Sunday we visited two of my friends from college who live on the shore, they took us out on their boat and it was a beautiful day. Their kids are terrific - funny, articulate, patient with Andy, even though they are in their teens. I am lucky to know such a great family. We are at an interesting point in the friendship - I hadn't seen them in like 20 years, and then we started seeing each other about once a year four or five years ago. So we're past the "remember when in college" thing, but not yet into the sharing of every day life things. We're planning on getting together after the holidays again.

Can I just say that I cannot eat enough blueberries? I seem to eat a pint of them daily, and boy are they delicious.

Know what we're doing next weekend? NOTHING! I can't wait - except that the in-laws are coming for Sunday dinner, but other than that, we're doing nothing! YAY!

Next week my parents arrive mid-week to help watch Andy. His last summer camp program is Friday. Tomorrow he takes a field trip to a large aquarium in another state. I'm having issues about his field trip (with myself.) Is the bus safe? Will they watch him carefully? How will I ever let him go off to college?

AND - how will I ever get the house cleaned in time for my parents' arrival?

That is all.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!