Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:14 p.m. - 2004-08-04
Back from vacation - part I
I'm back and sorting through email hell. I have no right to be grumpy, because we had a very nice vacation. I got along well with the fambly, mostly. I can't believe two weeks has flown by. I am remembering in chunks, so I'll try to be chronological. Got to flora dora just fine, but when we retrieved our luggage, our bag containing all of our dressy clothes for the cruise had a huge crater in it, as though something had exploded in it from the inside. We took it to the baggage office (we flew Delt@) and there were no apologies. "Fill this form." Spouse's brand new sports coat, newish suit, three dress shirts, two pairs of pants and a silk tropical shirt were shredded. Fortunately (for me) the damage stopped at my clothes. It was way easier for him to replace his clothing, than for me to replace mine. So the next day we headed to the mawl and he got a new suit, two new sport coats, two new shirts, some ties and some other stuff. It also turned out that my father (who has since put on alot of weight) had a tuxedo and a suit that fitted spouse perfectly, so he went home with a whole new wardrobe. That night we went to a wine tasting with my mother. I am always dubious about events with alcohol and my mother, but it was okay, and I drove. The next day my sister and her kids came in. I had been thinking that this might be a difficult time for her because last year at this time was the last vacation/time we were all together with her soon to be ex spouse. She was okay, but my nephew was having a difficult time. My niece declared me her second favorite (after my mother) so all was well. Cruise highlights? I won $156 at a bingo game (covered the soda and extras bill on the ship...); we climbed DunnsRive#rF@lls in Puerto Rico - that's the one where everyone holds hands and climbs up - very beautiful - very sore butt muscles. Saw some good comedians, had fun with spouse, Andy had a great time.

Oh yah - I got an "airbrush" tan before I left. That meant I had to be naked in front of the sprayer, who was very kind. When I called for the appointment I warned her that I was large and modest. She was very sweet. I got sprayed and sprayed. I looked vaguely Pakistani at the end of the evening, but most of it washed off in the morning. We stayed at a motel because my parents house is getting too small for everyone, and the poor housekeeper person must have thought there was a murder because there was reddish/brown tanning stuff all over the bathroom. I tried to be tidy.

I will have to talk about my nephew later. I am sad for him and worried for him. Better get to work.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!