Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:14 a.m. - 2004-07-02
Less flaky now
I keep forgetting to bring in tissues to work. My other jobs provided tissues, but this one doesn't. I once worked (for more than five years) for a very well known foundation that sponsors stuff on PBS and has very unusual award programs, and when I worked there, you had to turn in an old pen or pencil to the mailroom to get a new one. I love to tell that to people. So I have to remember tissues.

Tonight I am getting a spray on tan. I have never been tan in my life. I thought this would be a good time to try it out, since it is a long weekend. If it works, I'll get one again before vacation. I did some research, and things I read said that for best results, you should exfoliate before the spraying. Last night I did a salt scrub thing, and this morning I did my legs and arms again. I feel a little slippery to myself. But tonight I will allow chemicals to be sprayed onto me. It is supposed to take 30 seconds. Then Spouse, Andy and I will go out for Chinese food.

When Andy was smaller, he loved to be swung by his arms. He'd stand between his father and me, and we'd grab him by the hands/wrists , count to three and swing him as he took a leap. He has the best laugh. Anyway, he hadn't asked in a while, and he asked last night. We tried. No more flying. He's just too big now! I was a little sad, though he didn't mind. I see him growing and growing and wonder if he will still want to cuddle. Well at 3:48 a.m. this morning, we had a whomper of a thunder storm, and all of a sudden he dove into bed with us. We were awakened too, and spouse was unplugging things, but I didn't even hear him come up the stairs until I felt this little arm next to me. "I'll just stay here for awhile," he said. He was shaking he is so afraid of thunderstorms. I don't know why, I thought he had overcome that fear last year, but he is really shaking, nearly wetting pants terrified.

Tomorrow we are having friends/neighbors/acquaintances over for a cookout. The menu: hot dogs (I love them, I know we're not supposed to, but they are just the perfect vehicle for mustard and relish); hamburgers, sausage on the grill

Slovenian green salad with potatoes, eggs and bacon (from my neighbor.) My Nana's macaroni and cheese, which is nothing like you think it will be - spaghetti, canned tomatoes, shredded American cheese, onions - good hot or cold. Cole Slaw - brought by another friend; A dessert made with pudding and store bought choc chip cookies - I am dubious about that one...; watermelon, because you just must have watermelon, and chips and salsa - I make the best salsa, and everyone who is coming has requested it. After dinner we'll go to the high school and wait for the fireworks at 10 p.m. Our town has a great fireworks program every year - lasts about 20 minutes!

Sunday Andy will be in the town's parade with his cub scout troop, then we are invited to a neighbors for another cookout.

Know what we're doing Monday? NOTHING! I can't wait!

Today's furniture spotted: 1 twin headboard - white metal tubing.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!