Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:28 a.m. - 2004-06-25
Let's get organizized.
Productive work day - relatively speaking. I'm involved with this event in October in which the Mayor of the city in which I work, and the organization for which I work are co sponsoring an education oriented event. Last week we went through the machinations of getting an invitation letter which was written by a committee of 50 and given to the mayor for his signature. No where in that letter did it mention the organization I work for. I kept saying that we should be mentioned somewhere, but everyone on the "committee" assumed that it was intentionally left out because the Mayor requested it. I thought that could NEVER be the case. I was right, and so the person who is dealing with the mayor, who will not let anyone but herself contact the maor, then had to go back to him and say - "Oh, can we mention this organization since we are co sponsoring this event, and paying for this event, and doing all the registration for this event, and having all the inquiries come here for this event???" Well of course the Mayor said we could, and had staff give us his stationery (very snazzy looking) so we could get the invitations out. They didn't give us enough, so today I have to go grubbing around for more stationery. Oh puleeze. that doesn't count the time yesterday I spent feeding envelopoes into the printer. No I dont care what I do, as long as I'm busy, but it seems to me to be a waste of highly paid time to have me feeding envelopes, when there are four administrative assistants who weren't asked because the boss of one of them thought that it might stress them to feed envelopes into a printer and then stuff them to go out. Puleeze.

I COULD be using my time to identify reporters who might want to cover this event. I COULD be using my time to research case studies to be presented at this event. I COULD be using my time to make sure that we coordinate press contacts between the division I work for, and the University that hosts this division, and the Mayor's office. But I am feeding envelopes into a printer.

Anyway...Yesterday Andy spent the day at his grandparents. He had a great time - went out to lunch, got two large toys - a new Shr$k castle and some kind of crash test car with dummies that flies apart when it hits the wall, or the cabinets, or the piano, and makes car crash noises. Needless to say, it scared the pants off me when he was playing with it in the back seat as we drove home last night and it made its crashing noises. Note to self - plastic covers on the car seat in the front.

Got home in time to get Andy settled (spouse had a drs. appointment) with the sitter, and headed out with two neighbors for the St$pford Wives, and a quick dinner before. Two other neighbor ladies met us at the movies. I enjoyed it. Wore my pearls (well I hadn't changed from work yet...) The movie had some funny lines, but could Nicole get any thinner? she is so slender, almost transparent.

Not much else to report. Looking forward to the weekend (so I can sleep past 5:30 a.m.) which will be filled with errands. We've got nothing planned except the weekly dinner with the in-laws. I'm thinking of making crab quesadillas. Seven an a half hours left!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!