Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:17 p.m. - 2004-06-17
New shoes
Day four at work. I'm getting busier - lots of meetings, trying to keep things straight. I think I'll do a weekly report for my boss who is on vacation this week and next) to let him know with whom I've met and projects I'm taking on. I have a phone now. I have email now. I feel somewhat connected, but of course the computer interface is different, the voice mail sequence is different. whoda thunk I'd be so averse to change?

Andy finished first grade yesterday. He brought home a backpack full of papers and his report card. I love his teacher - she said the same things we said - that he should work on writing more neatly, and not interrupting friends or adults when they are speaking or working. He cried when he read that, which of course broke my heart, but I read him all the other wonderful things he had on his report card, and all the wonderful notes from his classmates. His teacher did a really wonderful thing - she had each student write a letter to all of the other students in the class, so they all came home with letters from their friends. It was fabulous.

Spouse seems to be especially frazzled. He is winding up his summer teaching and will be done by the end of the month, so that is good. He'll also get paid, so that is even better!

Tuesday night we were so fried, we fell asleep at 9 p.m. - I missed the first half of "last comic standing" so I can't figure out who is still here and who is gone, and why Wiggins got invited back. Whats up with that? Also, I thought that he should have made the final cut, but it is apparent that the producers are trying to get a good mix in the house to "create tension."

It has been hot and humid - so glad for air conditioning. I have new yellow shoes with flowers on them. I also have a new dress today, but not new underwear.

My parents are back from their trip. I got to speak with them yesterday, and float the question of them coming up here for two weeks in August to watch Andy. His summer programs end in the middle of August, but school doesn't start until September 1, and spouse starts teaching around August 16, and I can't take off from work. So...I am hopeful they'll come up and I'll pay for their tickets and a rental car.

Tonight I have to finish father's day preparations for spouse. He is such a great father. He'll have Andy alot this summer, especially since I will no longer work at home on Fridays. Sign. I have to work on that.

From my office I can see five different church spires - could be an interesting photograph.

Back to work.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!