Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:43 a.m. - 2004-06-01
What day is this?
Interesting weekend - somewhat productive. Saw Shr3k 2 for the second time with friends. Got a partial fridge, door on wrong side, delivery guys made a hole in our vinyl flooring then said they didn't do it. Then didn't assemble the fridge. Then left their hauling strap, and we were nice enough to chase after them to get it to them so they could do their next job (this was before we saw that they hadn't assembled the fridge interior.) So annoying.

Andy had fun with friends, marched in yesterday's Memorial Day parade in town, went to a cook-out. I guess we in the northeast call them cook-outs; whereas in the south (at least in the part where I lived) it seems they call them barbecues. Had company over for grown-ups night on Sunday. It was pretty fun, got good take-out bbq (ribs, chicken, pulled pork, brisket - YUM!) butone couple - our next door neighbors (yes, they are all neighbors in this group...) was very cold, didn't really talk to us, didn't offer to pay or bring anything. What the hell is up with that? We are good neighbors, and I thought we were good friends. But they have been cool and distant for the last several months. Life is too short. I will remain as we have been, cordial, polite. WTF?

We continued to clean out the former office that is now Andy's room. Spackled, purged, and I'm now sanding and about to wash the walls. Then we'll be able to prime and paint. My life is so full. I don't know why I am so intimidated by this project, but it is VERY IMPORTANT for me to get it done before I go back to work outside the home. (notice my politically correct reference.)

Andy was all about pushing the envelope this weekend. That's his job. It is mine to push back sometimes.

I'm trying to give some of the furniture (bookcases, desk) to charity, but apparently no one has either the resources to pick them up, or the need for them. When spouse's sister died unexpectedly, there were several homeless organizations who wanted her furniture, which we gladly donated, and they used them to set up people in new homes to get them out of shelters. Now no one can get it. How puzzling!

Time to finish sanding. What idiot would paint over wallpaper? The former owners of our house.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!