Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:12 a.m. - 2004-05-25
A 17th century rant
More thunderstorms! And more to come today and tonight. The air is murky and clammy. Nothing will dry.

I watched C0lonial H0use on PBS last night and had several rants and an epiphany: Most of the people on that show are lazy and whiney. They are so focused on their own individual needs, and for me that has become a microcosm of how people live now. No one does a thing because it is the right thing to do; people do things that are self serving and find ways to justify their behavior. They take care of themselves. There are no actions for the "common good," and that is played out over and over on this program. The new "governor" and his wife are all concerned about the trappings of being governor, not in actually doing the work that needs to be done to get provisions for the colony for the winter. Every shot shows the "governor" just standing around while the rest of the people are hauling and lifting and toting. It is infuriating, but so illustrative. It makes me sad though, because our nature and culture no longer includes behavior to do great things, unless they are for self aggrandisement or self-promotion. Everyone is concerned that they are "liked." It is such a dychotomy between how we perceive the culture was in the 17th century and how it is now. There are few people on the program with whom I'd strike up a friendship (as if that would matter.) I am glad to be watching the program, though it makes me so frustrated and angry!

Andy is on his field trip to a farm today. He went off with his peanut butter sandwich and $5 for the gift shop. I was not picked to go. I was on the "wait list." How typical for me.

I am supposed to have lunch with my old boss, but I suspect he will blow me off.

Last night because it was so cold I made pork roast, pan-roasted corn and a tomato, shallot, basil salad. It was delicious!

Why is ginsing good for my hair?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!