Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:18 p.m. - 2004-05-11
Moving forward
I've been working most of the day on my presentation for my second interview on Friday. My mother took our car and went to get my niece and nephew to bring them back for dinner tonight. My bro will come later after work and oin us. So my mom gets more time with that set of grand children. That's a good thing. So I've had the house relatively quiet - My dad is playing solitaire and watching the hearings on the whole Iraqi prison debacle. I am so sad and disheartened by the actions of those who gave up their last shred of humanity. I was sick this morning when a military staffer testifying before congress had the nerve to say that perhaps if we had been more generous with funding for the armed services, this wouldn't have happened. How can any sane human being draw that parallel? Perhaps if we had been more generous in funding parenting programs or educational programs, these "jailers" would have turned out to be more human. This has nothing to do with training and everything to do with humanity and decency. I am ashamed that they are Americans. I am ashamed for them all.

But thanks to the other soldiers who are over there at the whim of a president (bet that "we are watching" url shows up in my statistics again) who wanted to avenge his father's failures, I am sitting here comfortably in my family room with a cartoon bandaid on my paper cut - the only wound I have suffered recently, and safe. I am at a loss to know what I could do to remedy this. Do I write my congressman and senators? Do I write the white house? What can I do myself? So that's what's going on. It is hot today, cold tomorrow, cool Thursday and hot on Friday - interview day. Found a great, cheap suit at Marsh@lls - pinstrip black pants and a short-sleeved jacket - very crisp and tailored. Now I have to find an outrageous flower or pin to wear to my lapel to make it less serious. I forgot the buzz of getting a new outfit. I love retail therapy.

Signing off - gotta go set the table and clean up the living room.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!