Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

7:29 p.m. - 2004-05-07
Late Friday entry
Late entry today. Ran errands with my parents, went to Andy's "Author's Day" at school. Each kid wrote 6-7 books over the last two months. Each child read them to parents/grandparents, etc. who visited, then everyone switched and two other kids read to us, and Andy read to two other sets of parents/grandparents. It was very sweet, and Andy was proud of his work. Took my mom to the yarn store. She is knitting me some felted slippers - can't wait. Then we picked up some lunch accessories and their rental car, and they headed off to my brother's house to see my niece and nephew. I am not sure if I am in the dog house or not because I balked at doing a lobster dinner next week for my brother, SIL, niece, nephew, parents and anyone else. I offered to make any other meal, but lobster for that many gets hot and messy and my niece and nephew can be very high maintenance especially for lobster. It didn't occur to me until later that my mother was desperately trying to find some way to get some more time with my niece and nephew since my bro and SIL haven't made them very available to my parents. They went to Flora Dora last month for over a week and only visited wiht my parents for a few hours. It's not like they don't like my parents or that they aren't great grandparents, I just don't know what the problem is, except I suspect my SIL doesn't care to spend much time with our side of the family, and mhy brother doesn't fight it. It breaks my mother's heart and makes her drop everything (including time with us) to do something with them. It is painful. I'll probably be boiling massive amounts of crustaceans next week against my will.

Tomorrow is my nephew's first communion (the reason for this parental visit.) We always made a big deal of these kinds of events, but my bro and SIL are keeping it low key, so I expect we'll be home fairly early. YAY. Sunday I invited a friend and her three girls (her husband is away on business) for breakfast on Mother's Day, then at 1 my parents will return and we'll go to brunch. Sunday night, we get more company - they'll have to sleep on the couch.

Andy already gave me one of my Mother's day gifts - a really ugly green candle with a most unusual scent from the dollar store. It is now my favorite possession.

Okay - why did they vote off Big Tom and not Jenna? I just don't get that. Saw the last three minutes of Friends. That was plenty. Ross+Rachel. It is done.

Going to bed early tonight! Really!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!