Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:25 a.m. - 2004-05-04
Education doesn't always give you insight nor compassion
Guestroom cleaned - check; floor mopped - check; dinner ready to put on tonight - check; rugs vaccuumed - check; laundry done - check; book donations bagged - check; food pantry items bagged - check; bills paid - check; Love myself for being fairly organized - check; find a good job - oops!

Almost ready for the arrival of the parental units. I'm feeling pretty virtuous, got lots of stuff done, house is relatively cleaned and organized (no stuffing things...)

I just have to write this down so I can get rid of it in my brain. Sunday we took the in-laws for dinner to celebrate an early Mother's day since she is going to NY to see an opera with her other son and his wife. (FIL doesn't travel much any more.) Anyway, we got her a really pretty swirled glass gazing ball and stand, new pillows for her bed (she said she needed them but she'd never go out and buy them for herself), a pretty swirly serving plate, and a picture Andy made framed in plastic so she can hang it on her fridge - plus cards and photos. (I am a FABULOUS daughter in law.) Anyway, we went to dinner, and were seated when a group of six well-mannered urban youths were also seated near us. The young African-American men had dreadlocks, black hooded sweatshirts, lots of jewelry, backwards (for my generation) baseball cap, etc. They were dressed in the attire of their peer/generation. As I said they were not loud or obnoxious, ordered their meal, didn't order alcohol, etc. My MIL began (in a voice that was just a bit too loud) that they'd never get a job if they showed up dressed like that, and didn't I find it disturbing, blah, blah, blah. I hadn't even noticed them until my MIL brought it up. I quietly explained to her that that is why we teach Andy not to judge a book by its cover since these were obviously well-mannered young people enjoying a meal, even though their clothing might indicate something else to other people. Then my son's meal arrived and it had a side-dish of watermelon. Can you imagine the comment my FIL made about that? I am still so unnerved and angry about what he said. My in-laws are people with PhD.s. These are people who I knew were quirky and accentric, but whom I did not realize were bigoted and small-minded. I will need some distance from them for a few weeks. They did this in front of my loving, accepting Andy.

Got the word on the second interview. It is Friday the 14th. That gives me about a week to prep for the presentation.

Gotta go dust. And brood.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!