Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:03 a.m. - 2004-04-26
They didn't get it, hope he doesn't get it
Could I just stop being sick? I am tired of the cough and the wheezing and the stuffed nose and the blocked ears and the fever and the chapped lips. I am my own horror movie. It has been a week! And now I'm starting to hear a little rattle in Andy's chest and hoping he is just getting hay fever and not this monstrous beast of a cold. I actually slept for four consecutive hours last night - not so bad.

The big news - I have an interview at a well-known ivy-league university in the very tiny state next to mine. It is for a division that is separate from the actual university, but does significant and (it looks like) meaningful education outreach. I'll find out more on Friday. I have to figure out what to wear, because it is now a different season and I had two or three great winter interview outfits, but my spring wardrobe - not so good.

Weekend was okay - got lots of stuff done, threw out more crap, gave away more stuff, made dinner for the in-laws. (Fish in papillot (that's aluminum foil for folks like me) with an olive/herb sauce and summer squash steamed on the grill; cous cous (because Nigella likes cous cous and I want to be just like Nigella, only not a widow now married to Saatchi,)salad with almonds, asparagas with lemon and butter, home made pound cake and the most beautiful strawberries.) Hors d'oeuvres were home-made guacamole and home-made crackers and cheese - no I didn't make the cheese, but I did do the crackers. I rock in the kitchen.

I have been watching the American Iron Chef on the food network. It strikes me how differently the Japanese chefs approach food and its preparation - it is very respectful and ceremonial. Of course they didn't win because the b-list American judges didn't get it. They want raveeoleee And because I haven't been sleeping well, I've been having wierd iron chef dreams for the last three nights.

Time to find another box of tissues.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!