Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:13 a.m. - 2004-04-19
Almost popsicle season
My amazing, brilliant, funny son won his cubscout pinewood derby. He is a champeen! The first several trials, he just stood there with this incredulous look on his face - "hey! I'm WINNING!" We weren't so surprised that he'd won all the heats for his den, but then he kept winning against the older boys and their packs. I was there alone, spouse was at his conference which was a shame, since he and Andy did all of the work together, with help from our wonderful friends/neighbors and their power tools. There were many irate fathers asking me what we'd done to make it so fast. I LOVED it! So Andy will get medals to wear at his next pack meeting. The look on his face was so precious, so innocent and amazed.

Saturday he had his friends birthday party - we went to the movies then came back for games and cake. Saturday night we had grown-up night with the neighbors, which was mostly fun except for the one couple that refuses to cultivate babysitters, so if her parents cannot sit (and they have been very ill since last fall with heart/bone/hospitalization issues) they just bring their kids. Their kids are cute, but it is no longer a grown-ups night because their kids are in and out every two minutes. I sympathize with them because her parents have had so many health problems and she has the brunt of taking care of them, taking them to drs. appointments, etc., but this has been an issue for a few years - the babysitter thing that is. So we just put up with it.

Yesterday it was just Andy and me again - spouse had the last day of his conference. We went to early church, then breakfast, then the playground, then home to read the papers and cuddle (though cuddling with him is like cuddling with a bag of elbows.) Then out to play, then a quick lunch at a friends to play with their kids, then a brush fire at the neighbors with fire trucks and everything! Then grocery shopping and popsicles, (oh and Andy finally lost that bottom wiggly tooth) then home to play with the neighbors, then Daddy came home and we had dinner, then stories and bed. We did not see the in-laws this week because since spouse was not here, they did not want to see us alone.

This week is school vacation week, because apparently school children are not allowed to go for more than six consecutive weeks before the teachers need a break. This week Andy has some day-camp programs and he'll play with his friends. We're cat sitting for the neighbor. I am trying to feel more upbeat - it is going to be warm today, in the 80s. I've much cleaning to do so after I apply to the two jobs that I found this morning (nothing great, just jobs) I'll do some more cleaning out.

Overnight, the trees started to bloom and the forsythia is becoming yellow. Life is good this morning.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!