Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:55 a.m. - 2004-03-24
No more screaming trees
Got a call from the business unjiversity that I have applied to - where the interviews went spectacularly well, where I KNOW I could do a great job, where I haven't heard a blasted thing in over a week. Left a message Monday, person (prospective boss) is traveling and not in. Figure I might hear yesterday. And I heard something. The HR person called to say that the prospective boss got my message. She is on the road all week. I pressed (ever so politely) for a timeframe as to when a decision might be made. No sooner than the end of this week or the beginning of next. Wait. Wait. Wait.

It threw me for a loop - I mean, what decision needs to be made? I'm PERFECT for the job. People liked me very much, people got excited about my ideas. I just don't know. Anything. Anymore.

I am pining for a daughter. I saw this funny, smart, strong, confident nine-year-old on the To%day show today who wrote a wonderful essay about her father who was serving in Iraq. I saw how she is poised on the brink of adolescence and pray that she, and other strong, confident, funny, smart girls that she doesn't become quiet and shy with adulthood. I read a study a few years ago that said nine-year-old girls, when they are not heard, speak louder. Twelve year old girls, when they are not heard, become quieter and withdraw.

The trees have stopped screaming next door. I see at least six stumps. Later today, we'll go out and count the rings, Andy and I.

And also, where the hell is Spring?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!