Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:12 a.m. - 2004-03-19
Snow rut
So here is today's rant - besides the fact that no one has called to employ me. Last week when we flew to Flora Dora, Del$ta airlines managed to keep us away from any actual airline employees. Self check in, self luggage weigh, self ticketing, self-seat selection, only one person to check IDs. I find that I deal with fewer and fewer live, actual people, and more and more phone trees, automated programs and computerized scanners. Even my grocery store has replaced half of its check out lines with "self-serve" check out which is so ridiculous, because they are always empty because people are too intimidated to use them, and if you are paying by check or using coupons you have to have a real live person anyway. We are losing touch with each other.

Last night I went to a program at Andy's school called "brain gym," which theorizes that certain exercizes and body movements help prepare people (kids and adults) to learn and absorb more information. It made sense, and I noticed that some of the motions are tihngs I do already - like twisting my arms close to my body, and putting my fingertips over the pressure points on my forehead when I can't remember something. It is snowing again. It has been snowing for just about three days straight, though after the firswt day, n ot much has accumulated, just enough to melt and freeze and make it a bit treacherous on our sidewalk. Complain, complain, complain. I am so stuck right now.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!