Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:22 a.m. - 2004-03-02
The joke is on who?
Last night I found out that another university I had applied to (for a job) has completed screening the 200 plus resumes it received. This was the first job I applied for immediately after the layoff. According to my inside source, a wonderful, funny, kind woman who had encouraged me to apply even BEFORE I got laid off, but who has no pull with HR nor the person hiring for this position, they winnowed the resumes down to six. I haven't had a call yet and that is really eroding my confidence. WHY HAVEN'T THEY CALLED? I'm trying not to get all worked up about it. Oh wait - I ALREADY HAVE!!!

I am going to get a pedicure today, at the invitation of a friend, and since I will be going to see my sister who livesin a place where it is not likely I will have to wear shoes for an extended period of time, it seems like a good idea. I just feel guilty about spending the money. Let's face it. I feel guilty for just about everything. Not being a good enough mother or wife. Not being productive enough in the job search or in housekeeping. I am responsible for the decline in the whale population, the genoside of native americans in the last two centuries, the lack of voter turnout on important issues...Went to vote this morning right after dropping Andy at the bus. I did my civic duty and voted not for the candidate who should I respected most; but for the candidate who will likely win, and whose hair color changes from silver, to grey, to brown, depending on who is interviewing him. I NEVER EVER EVER watched either of the "Average Joes" but let me guess, she picked the hunk guy. I think we are becoming even more shallow. I think that looks are becoming everything. Just about everything I see and read encourages me to botox or nip or vacuum or peel away parts of myself that are aging. Why don't we respect that our bodies change? I'm all for hip and knee replacements, or for fixing things that keep us from living our lives. But must we be peeled and stretched and changed so that we do not reflect the years we lived? The wisdom we have earned or the pain and happiness we have been through? That is no longer allowed.

Both my spouse and my son decided to make up jokes last night: Spouse's joke:

Who decorates the sets of the Godzilla films? "Mothra Stuart."

Andy's joke:

Why did the doofus cross the road?

He forgot.

Thank you for your time and attention.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!