Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:16 p.m. - 2004-02-26
Used and a request
Called the potential new boss this morning as she requested. She asked if I would be interested in a second interview, and that many people were impressed with me, but they had to continue the first round interviews with people they had already scheduled. I'm down with dat. Then another HR person called, so I'm on deck for Monday, March 15 to meet with the people who might report to me. (I had told her I'll be away March 6-13.) So that's good. I had hoped everything would be settled before I went away, but that is not the case.

So then my (i think) friend called to see if I wanted to come over for lunch at her house a few towns away, and to bring the video I made for her of SITCity. I said sure, but when I got there, she suggested we go out and somehow I ended up paying for her kids lunch (not that I mind, I just thought I was having lunch at her house...) and then when I said I was going to the PO to mail off my thank you notes for the interview yesterday, she asked if I would mail a package for her (which meant I had to get out of the car and actually go in to the PO.) And then, she neglected to put any stamps on the parcel, so I ended up paying for it. And then, her parting words were "well you know, (her spouse) will be very sad if you get a job before he does." (He has been out of work for two years.) I just feel oddly used and wierd. I have worked hard not to let myself feel used, and to say no when I need to, but it happened all so quickly, and it is not like anything was a major thing, it was just a pile of little inconveniences.

I have noticed that a fair number of people with a .edu suffix read this diary. Not to be pushy, but I'd be eager to hear from you. You know, if you feel like it. There.

Today I ate three cadbury chocolate eggs (the little ones with a hard shell)and a bowl of raisin bran for breakfast. How's that for a balanced meal?

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!