Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:36 a.m. - 2004-02-16
Same-oh, same-oh
It is school vacation week here in the Commonwealth. Andy is at his day-camp (because we had already paid for it before I got laid off and they wouldn't give us our money back, and because he really likes the program.) I have been waiting three days for a "promised" call from another institution's HR department. The woman who wants to interview me told me to expect a call "momentarily" That was at 7 a.m. on Thursday morning. I suspect that the campus is closed today for "President's Day." I'm not sure if other parts of the country observe that holiday. My former co-workers took me to lunch on Friday. It was bittersweet. It was great to see them, but they are stressed and overworked, and some of their conversations made me arealize that I am now an outsider to that world. On the positive side, I had a lovely valentine's day. Spouse, who was instructed NOT TO BUY ANYTHING FOR VALENTINE'S DAY!!! came up with some home-made and thoughtful treats. We had company on Saturday - another group of former co-workers, one of whom has been out of work for more than two years AAAAUGH! and another who is doing contract work at the moment. It was great to see them, we are all networking like crazy.

Sunday the in-laws came. They were dour. I don't know why I expect anything comforting from them. Tomorrow I am having lunch with a former boss who was very kind to me. She was my boss when Andy was born and let me work two days a week at home. She was fired shortly afterwards, though not for that. We don't know what it was for. She doesn't know what it was for, but she (like me) was the wage earner in her family and it struck her quite hard. She got back on her feet after a few months. (Will that happen to me too?) And then she has been at the same job for the last six years. It will be good to see her. Wednesday I will be with Andy all day (no day camp program) Spouse has to go into work even though it is not usually a day he is on campus. Thursday, who the hell knows, and Friday we are doing a quick get-a-way (again planned before the layoff) and taking Andy and his cousins to a hotel that has an indoor wave pool. Should be fun. Have I complained about how AWFUL daytime TV is? Of course, I could just shut the damn thing off.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!