Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:07 a.m. - 2004-02-09
Can I just say?
Can I just say...This weekend at church we were supposed to celebrate marriage, but only in the terms that the church defines. The state I live in is going through a major tumult in that the state's supreme court has voted to allow same-sex marriages, or rather that denying same-sex marriages is a violation of constitutional rights. Fine with me. As far as I can recall, Jesus (and Buddha, and Moses and Mohammed) said "Love one another as you would yourself." And if two people find each other and want to build a life together, who are we to say they should not do that. And if they want to provide a home to adopted children, or find other means to procreate, who are we to say they should be denied the joys of parenthood? But my church, or should I say the church to which I belong, does not want that and has devoted considerable energy and resources to right the state's action. Couldn't these resources be better used? Couldn't these energies be used to protect children from those in the church that abused them? Couldn't those resources and energies be used to provide shelter to battered families, as Christ, Buddha, Moses and Mohammed had taught? (I don't mean to exclude any other religions, I am just not as familiar with their teachings.) I was so moved to have the priest at the church ask us to renew our marriage vows. Spouse and I wept as we did it, but then to follow it with a diatribe that onlhy one man and one woman can constitute a marriage, and that is a sacred vow, it saddened and enraged me. What about the sacred vows all of the pedophile priests broke? What about the marriages that the church dissolves or annuls (even when there are children) because someone knows the right people in the dioces? How can we allow such hypocracy? Should I write the dioces? Should I speak with the priest at my church? Okay I'm off my soap box for now.

I watched the grammys last night. How come Justin Timberlake got to be on it, but Janet Jackson did not? They BOTH were involved in that ridiculous stunt, and yes it was a tasteless and crass activity, just as the commercials and the rest of the half-time show was, and don't even get me started on the merits of professional football. But why was she disinvited, but he was not?

Boy I am just full of vinegar today. And can I just say that I might have to listen to "Fountains of Wayne" because I heard the song "Stacey's Mom has it going on" yesterday and almost drove off the road laughing. (Yes, I know I am slow on the pick up of trends...)

So that's what I have to say today, and I really hope Uncle Bob didn't get laid off from his job, and that it is just a joke.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!